While Christmas shopping last year I went into several places that sell art, frames, prints, and art supplies. I spoke to several people there who were buying some art. They said the prices were good and they could use the art to decorate their home. I asked if they considered buying from an artist and they all said the prices would be too high?? I informed them about buying American art from American artists. Then about my art, made, painted, done all in America by a local guy, me. My prices went from $10 and up with framed prints at $50 and up. I also have canvas prints from $150 and up. They were surprised. I think the big stores just brain wash people into thinking the art they sell is cheap when most local artists have very reasonable prices. Unique and limited edition art that could increase in value.  I urge each of you reading this to buy local. Buy American art,  buy here in the USA and avoid those cheap prints done in China. We need to support local art. It is reasonably priced, helps the economy and local people.  See my art at the below links and help a local artist in America.
LINKS TO AFFORDABLE AMERICAN ART:



How To Save Money, Frame Your Print Yourself

After years of selling my art I have learned a few tricks to getting good looking frames at a reasonable cost. Too often clients tell me they love the inexpensive prints I sell but having them framed is expensive. I tell them, ” get the frame first.” Many art and craft stores have seasonal frame sales. Frames come in standard sizes, 8×10 and 11×14, some have mats in them too. I have been able to find 11×14 frames with a mat for as low as $15 on sale at many discount, import, and crafts stores. I also find “postcard size” collage frames 4×6 with one, two, or more places to put a 4×6 print in them. Clients can also use the greeting cards I sell 5×7 as small prints framed with a mat.

First shop for a nice frame knowing what size prints are available, 4×6, 5×7, 8×10, 11×14. Be sure to know when the sale goes on and look for a frame with a mat. I also get discounted pre-framed prints and remove the store bought print and put in its place my prints. Above is a photo of an off size painting I did for my daughter, framed in a frame I found at a discount store with an existing food print at half price. The painting fits perfect into an existing frame and was $12.

Framing a print need not be costly when you keep in mind to get prints to fit a standard frame. Look for frames first, on sale, then frame your print yourself.